Premed 101 Forums

Some Informative Posts For Those Who May Be Considering The Caribbean As Their Second Chance.

• 2 months later...

Great post and very informative.

What is the summary for practicing in canada vs the US as a caribbean medical graduate? Why do many say it is almost impossible to come back to canada (currently), but the US is very possible. How is the current situation?

Next year, likely much more difficult than ever before. I'm not an expert in this, but Health Canada has put substantial restrictions on the amount of Canadians who can do a residency in the US. Less than 300 in family, for example, which was previously unlimited. And that includes everyone, Canadians, people who went to top US schools, and Carib grads.So even if you find a residency in the US, you have to then hope to be one of those who gets the statement of need

While I don't disagree with the very knowledgable post above, I think the next couple years will see the options for IMGs go from bad to worse. Like the first poster said, it will be a risk and a choice no one should make if they have any other option

Statement of need is first come first serve. A superstar candidate from Harvard can literally be rejected just out of dumb luck

That's what I mean. It's a total gamble. The difference is a Harvard grad has the option of applying first-round in Canada, while the carib grad doesn't

That's what I mean. It's a total gamble. The difference is a Harvard grad has the option of applying first-round in Canada, while the carib grad doesn't

The Harvard grad also has a much better shot at the non-J1 visa options in the US, bypassing the gamble.