Premed 101 Forums

Engineering To Medical School - The Gpa Tradeoff

I'm currently enrolled in an Ontario undergraduate engineering program (just completed first year). 

Medicine has always been something that's interested me (though I am an engineer at heart and love my major) and so I'm thinking of maybe applying to Ontario medical schools (and perhaps even some in the states) upon completing my undergraduate studies. 

The problem is I'm not super confident in my ability to maintain a very competitive GPA through my engineering undergrad (have 3.77 after first year - one of the easier ones in my study plan). I am more confident in my test-taking abilities (given enough study time) and hope to score what's currently a 32+ on the MCAT (maybe even higher if I'm lucky). 

As per the schools in the US, I'm taking the prerequisite courses for most of them over the summer in order to have that option open.  I also don't want to overload my Fall/Winter semesters and further compromise my GPA.

My question is whether I would stand a decent shot at medical schools (both in Ontario and the US) with a below-average GPA score (a low 3.7 if I'm being realistic), a good MCAT, and a pretty good application (EC's and such).  There is some light at the end of the tunnel as my final year is comprised almost entirely of electives which could give me a nice GPA boost and help me knock-off any last-minute pre-reqs I'm not able to get out of the way during my summers off. 

I would also consider applying to dental school afterwards, but I'm not sure whether GPA is more heavily factored in one's application down that route.

All help appreciated!