Premed 101 Forums

Why U Of A Med?

Hi, I was browsing through the forums and I was having a tough time finding current UofA med students' perspectives on why UofA is a great program.

Could some students currently in the program shed some light on their thoughts and experiences and what makes UofA a better choice than some other programs, along with what its weaknesses are? I'm not from Alberta and have never visited so some general comments on Edmonton and the campus would be welcome as well!

Lol gunners who gunningly gun.

@bearpuppy

Congrats on the CWRU acceptance. If finances were no issue, which of U of A, U of C or CWRU do you prefer?

Thank you! It's a tough question... In a lot of ways coming back to Canada (I'm a postdoc in the states right now) would be awesome. I am interested in neurosurg tho, and right now it's not looking great in Canada job wise. That has a 'backwards' trickle-down effect, because neurosurg residencies are not equivalent b/w Canada and the US, and it's harder (and for other reasons, less typical) for a Canadian MD graduate to do a US residency. So what I'm saying is that where you do your MD degree tends to dictate where you end up practicing. And I am also not in a situation where finances are not an issue, so I don't get to be non-pragmatic about it.

I think U of A is a wonderful place, and CWRU is similarly great. It would ultimately be a difficult choice, and Calgary has it's benefits also. My guess is I would choose U of A given no financial concerns.

Th

Pros:

Big new teaching buildings with simulators, stimualtors, and everything else you could want.

Resource rich, high end ORs, well equipped small group rooms, money for clubs.

"Academic school" lots of research, some big names in the game.

Almost every residency program offered except vascular, thoracic, and a couple other odd ones. Your odds of getting something exotic/difficult are better from your home school.