Premed 101 Forums

Chances? 2Nd Degree

Hello,

I currently have a H.BSc in Biology however my gpa from it was quite low (2.5) I had a lot of personal stuff going on for the first bit and towards the end started to pull together. After school I graduated and got myself a good job in the medical field working with surgeons on a daily basis. I am thinking of starting in September and doing a 2nd degree... what are my chances of getting in with a second degree? I know and have full confidence my second time around I will be able to do well. I also think I would be able to get good references, have lots of volunteer hours, etc. Born and raised in the North. Has anyone gotten in off of second degree? What degrees do most people take? Does anybody know anyone who got in with a degree that was fully online?

Sorry for all the questions!

Hey! First of all good job on thinking about doing a second degree. I myself did a second B.Sc. from Lakehead university. I just interviewed in April. There are many school where you can do a degree online.

If you less than 25 years old, NOSM requires you to have a 4 year degree for them to consider the gpa from it. If you are 25 or older, they accept a 3 year degree. NOSM only counts the gpa on the newly completed courses, not transfered courses (if you are able to transfer any).

In my opinion, you have the same chances of getting in even if you have 2 degrees. I have read on this forum of a few individuals getting in after doing a second degree.

Make sure you research a bunch of different schools for online degrees. Athabasca is a popular one, i did mine at lakehead.

Hope this answers your questions.

In my opinion, you have the same chances of getting in even if you have 2 degrees. I have read on this forum of a few individuals getting in after doing a second degree.