Premed 101 Forums

Unusual International Path

Im a Canadian masters student and I want to go to med school in Australia, however I've read that it can be trouble finding residency in Aus if you're an international student.

Because I have my EU passport is it possible that I could complete my medical schooling in Australia and continue to do residency in England if Australia gives me problems?

Also if possible, anyone who was in a similar scenario (good MCAT and an EU passport, but a subpar GPA), what did you do?

You would have to check the rues in the UK, whether it is as simple as it would appear for citizens who are not resident of the UK. It might be but do not take it for granted.

You are far better off to stay in Canada even if this means doing a seocnd undergrad to improve your undergrad GPA if it is not presently competitive. Sometimes the seemingly longer route is in fact the safer and shorter route to achieving your goal.

Im a Canadian masters student and I want to go to med school in Australia, however I've read that it can be trouble finding residency in Aus if you're an international student.

Because I have my EU passport is it possible that I could complete my medical schooling in Australia and continue to do residency in England if Australia gives me problems?

Also if possible, anyone who was in a similar scenario (good MCAT and an EU passport, but a subpar GPA), what did you do?