Premed 101 Forums

Help: Time And Vacation Vs. Debt + Guilt ?

Okay so I don't know who to talk to about this...

I'm currently in my second year of medschool and I have 3 years left until graduation.

Now my parents dont really have much money so I'm paying for everything on my own using student loans from the government and the credit line offered to medstudents.

The fact that Im accumulating debt makes me feel really uneasy, but I was always able to deal with it by telling myself that I have no choice, its all essential expenses and its okay. I have to live somewhere! I need food to live!

But its summer now and there's also the question of time... This is one of my last summers before residency and all that follows. I realize I only have 2 summers left including this one. And I want to travel, I want to travel more than anything... It makes me so incredibly happy. But that means adding more money to the debt and it makes me sososo anxious. Travelling isnt cheap! It actually costs almost as much as a semester here (Quebec).

Im so conflicted, What is the right thing to do here??

I know how precious this time is, but Im still so afraid to spend money I dont have right now.

Any helpful advice? What do you guys think?

When people talk about traveling, I think of my Line of Credit.

And if you feel bad about spending money you don't have, that's a good thing. But remember that if you forbid leisure spending now, you won't be enjoying yourself until you actually have disposable income in your late 20s and 30s. By then, you might have a wife with a job, kids, and who knows what other responsibilities. The opportunity cost of traveling at that point in your life will be much higher too (you could make a lot more money in one month as a doctor than you could as a medical student). It's also easier to take time off now. Extended periods of travel are more difficult when you're a practicing physician.

At least, that's how I justify it to myself anyways.