Premed 101 Forums

My Odd Adventure Into Isolated Rural Area Of Northern Ontario. Chances?

Hello Everyone, 

I was wondering if I should bother applying to NOSM. I have a nursing degree with a GPA of 3.65, and is a co-founder of a non for profit that helps the development of First Nation Rural communities of Nepal since 2013. I have experience working as a nurse in a critical care floor nurse in the city, but for the past year, I some how stumbled into a position as a Manager/team lead for program development of a telemedicine program for First Nation Population (more specifically, the northern first nation reserves). My position is located in a very isolated rural town, and I was wondering if my chances of being accepted into NOSM would be higher. My GPA isn't stellar either, and I was born and raised in toronto, so should I bother applying?

I work with a lot of physician who practice up north in isolated reserves that are only accessible by plane. I can see that this is something I want to do in my career, but I'm just not sure if I should apply, or I should work a few more years , then apply. I was also thinking about doing  a masters in public health. 

any thoughts =) ?

thank you

about one year so far

That will not be enough for a competitive context score. (I have a similar experience in NW Ontario and also worked in a First Nations reserve.) I understand where you are coming from, but it is not how they define context. You can choose to work there for a few more years (at least 5-6 years? check earlier threads), but I encourage you to explore other schools.

That will not be enough for a competitive context score. (I have a similar experience in NW Ontario and also worked in a First Nations reserve.) I understand where you are coming from, but it is not how they define context. You can choose to work there for a few more years (at least 5-6 years? check earlier threads), but I encourage you to explore other schools.