Premed 101 Forums

U Of C Mmis..

Hello everyone :),

I am currently a Masters student at u of c.  Last year, I applied to u of c medical school, but was rejected post interview. My interview score was slightly below average. I will be re-applying again, but I am afraid that my interview is what's holding me back. I am worried that I won't be able to improve upon my interviewing skills, because I am not sure what they are testing on MMIs. 

I can't apply to medical school outside of the province due to the fact that I have a below average GPA.  I re - wrote my MCAT this Summer, and I received a high score, but I won't still be competitive outside of Alberta. 

In regards to the interview, what would help in getting a higher interview score? Is it life experiences that help you score well on the interview? or is it the amount of practice with MMIs that one has before the interview?

I would really appreciate any input or insight about how one can improve on the MMIs. 

My advice is probably going to sound very non-specific..but I went from a low interview score two years in a row to a much better (albeit not amazing) interview score in the most recent cycle. Practice with other people, get comfortable talking about some random prompts with others. Try more than one person because not everyone will recognize the same things that you can improve upon (or even have the same opinion). A major part of the MMI is demonstrating you can be natural and relaxed in a high-stress environment. Think of the MMI stations as encounters with patients, because (in my opinion) that is what they are looking at. If you are super stressed, it is hard to think clearly and make logical sense. And at least at Case (where I am now), they drop us right into these kinds of situations very early (we had our first standardized patient interactions in the first 4 weeks).