Premed 101 Forums

Late To The Race

biyato

Hey guys. I'm new here.

I'm in my first year of CEGEP in Quebec, and I only recently decided that I wanted to go back to trying to reach for medical school. From 7 years old I've wanted to be a doctor, or, more specifically, a surgeon, but a few years back in my 3rd year of high school my step father, a pediatric epileptic neurologist, sort of crushed my attraction to the job by bluntly telling me that I should stay away from the field, stating that it would deprive me of my social life, my family life, and overall make me depressed. After telling me all of this multiple times, I sort of slumped. I stopped trying in school, and, despite my mathematical talent, almost failed math in my fourth year. I became addicted to video games to the point that I'd sleep at 4-6 am everyday, knowing that I had to wake up at 8. I slept through my classes, and had very mediocre marks in everything (besides science, in which putting in no effort landed me a 94).

To make a long story short(ish), in my last year of high school I met a new group of friends, including my current girlfriend of one year, who heard out my story and gave me the push I needed to get back on track. By the end of the year I'd turned nearly-failing grades into a high 80 average. Now I'm in my first semester of CEGEP, I have high 90s in all my of courses (except freaking French), and I'm aiming for Med-P at McGill. Academically, things are shaping up. My problem is, knowing that I'll be applying to Med-P less than 2 years from now, I've recently began looking at what other people have as ECs, as well as some articles on what medical schools look for, and I realized a few issues.

1. I'm not sure if I'm a little behind in comparison to my competition, i.e. in terms of volunteer hours, experience, all that good stuff. I've done nothing besides a few hours of volunteering at an old folks home.