Premed 101 Forums

Is It Worth It To Apply?

Hello,

I am hoping to apply to Canadian medical schools for 2018. I have a bit of a strange academic history and was wondering if anyone had some advice. 

I had severe eating disorder during my first few years of university that resulted in me doing very poorly while only taking part time courses. After 2.5 years, I dropped out with a 2.6 GPA. I received treatment and returned to school the year after. After 3 years of full time courses, I graduated at the top of my class with a 4.0 GPA. 

I am writing the MCAT this summer, and do quite a bit of volunteer work, lab work, and research. I was wondering if anyone here had a similar experience, and whether they think that those first few years of poor marks will hold me back. 

Thank you so much in advance!

I would definitely apply! 

it may hold you back at a few schools who may not even give you a file review based on your GPA (UofO, mac, e.g.), but overall you had a valid reason for your initially poor performance, you sought treatment, learned from it, and returned to show your true potential. Write about this experience in your letters, and some schools allow for space to specifically explain aberrant issues like this (U of T for example) and will take it seriously, especially when a serious condition is the culprit. 

I say own the MCAT, work on the rest of your application (volunteering, ECs, research, etc, etc, the usual) and go for it!

Schools all do their cumulative GPA calculation differently.  wGPA thresholds are also different at each school and whether you are in-province or not.  Schools use a selection of GPA / MCAT / CARS / Casper / Essays / References / ECs  in different ratios for interview selection.    Where are you in-province ? Look up your in-province schools first and see how they calculate GPA and do Interview selection.