Premed 101 Forums

Worked Through University, Unsure If I Can Make It In

I had been working since high school (grade 11) to save up for the cost of a University education in a lab on campus. While I loved my job as a research assistant (and it is the reason I stumbled into/discovered university), I did my undergraduate degree in engineering, and the course load/curriculum seemed so difficult for me while balancing trying to have enough income to support myself,  and contribute to my family (this required about 15 -30 hr/wk). Unfortunately, I graduated my engineering degree with only a 3.5/4.0 GPA. On the plus side, I did get a few second/third author publications (8, during undergrad while working) and 1 first author publication (during masters). 

I did a masters to attempt to better myself as an engineer and potential MD applicant, and ended up with a UBC average of 90% (GPA 3.9/4, from 6 courses + thesis work) and won a few awards (NSERC CGSM, and a few institutional awards). Right now I am working for a start up, and taking online University courses (under open studies) in biology, biochem, and physiology/anatomy. My parents are doing much better now so I no longer need to support them financially, and have more time to study even while working half (sometimes full) time, and am earning around 95%'s on my midterms.