Premed 101 Forums

Scared About Pre-Recs Coming Up... Need Advice!

It's been about 5 years since I've done chem and physics and quite frankly I'm really nervous about it. I am in my 3rd year of Kinesiology with a 3.81 cGPA with a strong upward trend (first year was 3.3). I am working on my EC's now as well. I will graduate next year but will take a gap year to finish my pre-recs probably and take the MCAT. I didn't decide I wanted to pursue medicine until about 9 months ago. I was initially set on physio. Are those chem and physics courses going to be really tough? I don't remember anything from high school and I didn't really do all that well in high school to begin with. I will talk to my advisor soon and see what she says but just wanted to post on here as well. I know how to study well and I can put in the work. Just wanted to see what realistic advice I could get and if any other people were like me in my situation. I'm in Alberta as well btw... Thanks a lot!!

Hard to know until you actually do them and see for yourself... perhaps see if you can get any material from a colleague and/or ask a prof for a syllabus to get an overview. 

You don't really need to take pre-reqs however if it's just to do the MCAT. Most people can do fine as long as you have the prep books, time, and determination. 

- G

Hard to know until you actually do them and see for yourself... perhaps see if you can get any material from a colleague and/or ask a prof for a syllabus to get an overview. 

You don't really need to take pre-reqs however if it's just to do the MCAT. Most people can do fine as long as you have the prep books, time, and determination. 

- G

I don't know if I would have the discipline to self-study haha but that is an idea. Which prep books do you recommend?

I don't know if I would have the discipline to self-study haha but that is an idea. Which prep books do you recommend?

Examkrackers for me, and it'll be useful since it explains things in simple terms.