Premed 101 Forums

Mcat Scores For Us Schools

What is considered a competitive score for US MD schools? I have a masters degree and been working for a year or so since graduation. I know that masters degrees don't count for much in the US admission system but still, it gives me life experience and research/publications. Undergrad GPA is 3.74 with strong upward trend and Grad GPA is 4.0. BCMP GPA is a bit lower than overall. Mostly good grades with a couple of bad ones in the first 2 years which are bringing down the average.

I can't seem to get over the CARS section requirements to be competitive in Ontario so looking to apply to the US. 

I would love to apply for MD/PhD since I have a passion for both medicine and research but I don't think my stats are competitive enough so I might just do PhD later rather than on a joint program.

Any suggestions?

I'd say probably 510+. But I don't know how the new MCAT is being viewed.

It's kinda odd but I'd say that some places are more lenient on MD/PhD candidates than they are on MD candidates.. but I don't have hard evidence to back this up. Your bigger challenge is making sure that wherever you apply for a MD/PhD, that they accept international students, specifically into the MD/PhD program. The MSTP funding is federal and can not be given to someone who is not a citizen or permanent resident. Some schools find money elsewhere for international candidates, some schools just don't take any because of that issue.