Premed 101 Forums

What Is Your Email Signature?

Hi. I'm half-way through my first year in med school when I was talking to a friend who mentioned how people find the title "MD candidate" very pretentious and we shouldn't use it in our email signatures. I was shocked because I've been using it in my email since the beginning of the year AND this was the format suggested in the official first year guide package... But just in case I don't annoy future preceptors, I wanted some second opinions on this. To residents/staff, how do you feel towards the title "MD candidate?" To current medical students: What are your email signatures? Mine is as below:

Name Name

MD Candidate

Class of 20xx

Name of University

000-000-0000

email@email.com

NOTE: I ONLY USE SIGNATURES WITH FORMAL EMAILS (i.e. people from faculty, any staff from hospital/school, any professional whom I'm emailing for the FIRST time and should probably know that I'm a medical student for one reason or another.) So please don't misunderstand that I flaunt my title to my friends/family/ppl unrelated to school/work

Just my full name and if it's my first time emailing a contact who may not otherwise know that I'm a medical student (and this knowledge is relevant) outside of me stating it once early in the body of the email, I will add "Class of 2019" on the line following my full name at the end of the email.

I see classmates who have signatures similar to yours or with some aspects of it and I've also heard that apparently it is discouraged to use the MD candidate terms in your signature, but ultimately I don't think anyone cares THAT much.

Just do whatever you feel most comfortable with and seems most reasonable to you. If you are very concerned about this and really want a more definitive answer, just ask one of the physicians in your UME office what they recommend and whether this has been an issue in the past.