Premed 101 Forums

Chance Me Please! (New To Us Admissions)

Hey everyone, I'm currently a 4th year undergrad studying Nursing at a Canadian University but looking to apply to USMD (and maybe USDO) schools this coming summer.

cGPA (AMCAS) - should be ~3.8ish by the end of this year. 

MCAT 1st attempt - 124/127/118/118 (Only planned on applying to Mac this year - thought it would be smart to do the first section as a warm up...does this significantly hinder my chances?)

MCAT 2nd attempt - 127/125/126/128 (506) - would this be too low for USMD low-tier? What about USDO?

I plan on rewriting the MCAT this summer too, but also want to submit my application as early as possible as I hear this is advantageous. What would be a good month/time to rewrite?

ECs (I know that I am very weak in this area)

- Choir leader x6 years (>200 hrs)
- Hospital volunteer x4 years (>170 hrs)

- A few tutoring positions x1 year (one of the tutoring positions was for a club I started)

- One executive position in a club  x1 year

- Advanced level in Piano x15 years (won a few awards)

- Advanced level in Guitar x11 years (self-taught)

- Music group leader for a youth group x4 years

- Track and Field x1 year

I could probably think of more but I feel these are the most significant.

Clinical experience

- >1100 hrs in direct patient contact as a student nurse

In terms of prereqs I know each school is different and I plan on returning for another year of school after graduation this year to complete them. During my degree however, I have completed 2 semesters of General chemistry and 1 semester of Biology. I understand that most schools are OK with you applying if you don't have the prereqs at the time of application so long as you complete them before matriculation (can anyone confirm this?)

Unsure if this is relevant, but at this point in time I'm quite certain I would like to match into and practice Family Medicine.