Premed 101 Forums

What Are My Chances?

I just wanted to get an honest opinion about my odds of getting into med school and was curious if there were other applicants like myself.

I originally went to the UofA and did a degree in accounting and have worked in the field for the last 4 years. Recently I have been thinking about a career change and have landed on medicine. I graduated with distinction but my first two years weren't the greatest. My cumulative GPA removing my lowest year is a 3.4, my last two years I was able to boost my GPA to a 3.5 and 3.8.

Ideally I want to go to U of A or U of C.

Thanks!

GPA is only weighted 20% at U of C. You have a good chance at U of C, but you will have to kill the other sections. I received interviews at U of C/ U of A with a GPA of ~ 3.5, but I have excellent extracurriculars. Additionally, I did well on the MCAT. 

You don't loose anything if you apply, especially if you meet the requirements!!

Best of Luck :)

My grades were as follows:

1st year - 3.0

2nd year - 3.1

3rd year - 3.5

4th year - 3.8 

I haven't written the MCAT I am planning to write the exam in June. 

My EC's are pretty standard in volunteering and community service. I worked a pretty demanding job the last few years so I haven't had a ton of time to put towards EC's. I have an accounting designation as well (I am aware that this wont be counted towards my GPA calculation) where I received distinction throughout that I hope would help with my upward trend in grades.