Premed 101 Forums

Advice

I recommend this program @ Concordia. Read the below thread thoroughly for all details.

The material is voluminous but not difficult, although hard work is required throughout. Straight A's are attainable with hard work. It is an excellent prep for medicine and the internships allow you to apply your theoretical knowledge and to develop excellent communication skills with patients as you help to rehabilitate them.

Every person I know from this program got into med on their first try in one of the Franco medical schools.

http://forums.premed101.com/index.php?/topic/47595-cegepiens-eng-french-who-need-to-choose-an-undergrad-program-leading-to-medicine/

• 3 weeks later...

Hi all,

First of all good luck to everyone!

I am pretty new to this. Kind of hoping for some advice as I am at my wits end with what to do next.I live in QC and I have a bachelors degree in business administration (concentration Accounting/Finance) from the American University of Sharjah in the United Arab Emirates with a cGPA of 3.05. I graduated in 2010 - started in 2006. I currently work in a business environment - typical corporate office but I often dream of medicine and wonder what is my best route to getting there.

I am married - with a child on the way! So this does throw a wrench in the works but I am determined to atleast give it a go. I have take a couple of science prereqs at Dawson College and I've done very well. I am unsure now though, is it best for me to get a second degree? Try for the Carribean? UK? Ireland? try with my currrent stats? If do a second degree, could I maybe do a transfer of some credits from my first degree and finish it off with the best grades possible? I thought about nursing too but here in QC that is a 3 year degree in MCGILL and alot of canadian unis require a 4 year degree to be competitive. Given the stats and chances are already pretty abysmal I dont want to be an out of norm candidate if that makes sense.