Premed 101 Forums

When To Take, Prep Courses, Adhd Advice

Hello! I'm new here so be gentle with me. I don't have many friends to talk to so I thought I could ask you guys. 

1. I was wondering when I should take the MCATs. I heard from a friend that she's taking it in July because everybody will take it in August and that will result in more competition. I'm a second year student who wants to apply to Canadian schools like UofT, so I'm hoping to take it once this summer and be able to have the option of retaking it next summer in case I don't do as well as I could've. Is this a common choice? Would it look bad? 

2. There is a Prep course I was looking at that is about $2300 for 3 months. It is PREP101. Has anybody taken this before and would you recommend it? Would you recommend other prepcourses besides this. I would like to note that I would like to take a prepcourse, and would prefer not to study the MCATS by myself. 

3. I've been diagnosed with ADHD and been on vyvanse. It has work wonders for me, and I don't think I need accommodations - but I just wanted to hear overall thoughts of what people with ADHD recommend. Just the intense length of the MCATS might be stressful, but hey, that's everybody! Would med schools be biased (negatively) towards people who have untimed exams? 

Thank you for taking the time to read this :) 

Hi potatopeel,

The way I understand it is that the MCAT gives you a comparative grade based on other test takers. Whether you take it in June or August technically should not matter too much because of a couple things: there may be reused questions (probably why there's a confidentiality agreement) and the pools are huge and so applicant differences ideally get normalized. The amount of people doesn't make it more competitive. You could easily apply this alternative logic to the system otherwise: "I want to take it in August because June test takers are keeners who don't need to study throughout the whole Summer to do well."