Premed 101 Forums

Low Gpa - Don't Know Where To Go From Here.

Hey guys,

I'm in my final years of university, and my GPA is an absolute wreck (and that's an understatement). I honestly don't know where to go from here. 

My core GPA is 3.1 (only including bio, physics, chem, ochem). My GPA for english courses and humanities/social sciences are the same as my core. As for my biochem... let's just say I have to retake the courses (assume the absolute worst). As for my cumulative GPA, it's quite lower than my core GPA. 

I've been looking into taking an after degree, but when I look at the GPA calculations of dentistry admissions, my core and cumulative GPA will always be bringing my mark down even if I get a perfect grade in my after degree.

My heart's set on dentistry, but In my current financial situation, applying to US or Aus is not an option. Can someone please advise me on what steps I should take so that my GPA will be competitive? I know it's late to be asking such questions, but I'll be giving it my all until I get in. 

Thank you so much for taking your time to read this, and I appreciate any advice you guys can give me.  :)

Not sure what an after degree is, but I'm pretty sure if you take a second undergrad some schools such as Western will only look at your second degree. Make sure to research about other schools too, but I'm pretty sure most schools will only look at a second degree as long as it's equivalent to a 4-year degree. So if you're willing to do that there's still hope! But of course you need to really sit down, assess, and reflect on what it is that is causing you to not achieve as high as you want to, because if it's just a study habit problem doing a second degree will not automatically make you competitive.