Premed 101 Forums

Transitionning Towards Cegep

Candid

Hello guys,

I'm in my last year of secondary and next year I'll be in cegep. In these two years, I want to do everything possible to be admitted in premed.

But here is the thing: I think that I am too decent, average. My grades are in the high 90s in science related subjects but everything else is around 80, basically just a few points above average. I don't know if I'll get the same grades in cegep, it might be harder or.. easier (?),

but I really need help, I cannot afford to just "do my best" and see the outcome, it's too risky for someone like me. :( 

• How was first semester of cegep for you guys?
  • Did u perform as well or worse or maybe even better than in highschool?
  • And for those who've had their grades strongly improved throughout these two years, what helped you accomplish it?
  • What did you do to get an R score high enough to get into premed or any competitive university program?

I don't want my first semester of Cegep to be a hard brick in the face. I think that my high school prepares the students well enough for cegep but I want to push myself even more and secure the chances of getting into med.

Thank you very much for your understanding,

Marie

Hi Candid

I think cegep is harder than high school based on the fact that it requires constant work. Even if you didnt do you your homework, HS was pretty doable according to me.

The key to succes in cegep is work and organization. Do all your homework and do them again before your exam. For the other non-scientific subjects, read all your texts and read them again near the exam date. Write résumés in Word and read them outloud. Besides, never get scared to ask questions to your teachers by meeting with them. It will show them that you are interested by the subject (even if you're actually not) and that you want to learn. Plus, it will help you understand better.