Premed 101 Forums

Hi everyone! I am graduating with a BA (Hons.) in Music this spring. A couple of years ago, after a couple of life-changing diagnoses, I decided that I want to work in healthcare as a physician. Unfortunately, my cumulative GPA is NOT competitive (it's a 3.7) and I do not have a science background (just a few life sci courses I took out of interest). My dream school is McMaster because their values align closely with my own and I love Hamilton! I applied to McMaster this past application cycle so I could get a feel for the application process. As I expected, I did not receive an interview.

• My OMSAS GPA was a 3.7
  • My CARS score was a 128
  • I felt as though my performance on the CASPer test was probably mediocre 
  • I have no lab experience, but I have ethnomusicological fieldwork experience with older adults (LTC/retirement home residents)
  • I have decent ECs 

- 4yrs in a competitive university chamber choir

- 2yrs Volunteering in the ED and Day Surgery unit of my local hospital

- Facilitating sexual wellness workshops for high school students 

- 3 semesters with Student Accessibility Services (multiple roles working closely with students who experience disability)

etc.

My current plan is to rewrite CARS this summer and to prepare better for the CASPer this time around. If I have to apply again after that (which is very likely), I will have to make some big decisions about how I want to move forward. I could try to improve my GPA by taking first and second year science courses that many traditional premed students take (I am getting my high school match/sci. courses this fall), I could do a post-degree BSW program to boost my GPA and gain knowledge that could be valuable to a physician, I could do an MA . . . 

Many of your success stories on this forum have been SO inspiring to me. I would love ANY words of wisdom form other applicants who graduated with a BA and who might have more experience with this process than I do.