Premed 101 Forums

Question About Getting 2Nd Degree?

Hello,

I graduated last year at the University of Toronto with a BSc degree and I'm thinking of going back to complete a second degree. I already did the required courses during my first degree and I was wondering if I have to redo all of the prereq courses again during my second degree?

Thanks in advance.

Depends on your second degree and school... ex I did my second degree in dietetics so my chem, biochem, physio etc all transferred and I didn't have to redo them. Also check to make sure you can do another science degree (I have a HBSc & BASc which are different degrees but some unis have rules where if you have a BSc you can't get another one and have to do a BA, BASc etc)

Hello,

I graduated last year at the University of Toronto with a BSc degree and I'm thinking of going back to complete a second degree. I already did the required courses during my first degree and I was wondering if I have to redo all of the prereq courses again during my second degree?

Thanks in advance.

Doing a second degree is alot of work.. have you considered masters?

Thanks for the answers.

I know with UofT, I can't do another science degree so it has to be something in arts. I have to talk with the registrar to get more information.

I did consider doing a masters but its better if I just do another degree.

4 years undergrad vs 1~3 years masters..

With that logic, a 4 year PhD is just as much work as an undergrad. You are held to MUCH higher standards in a graduate degree. It also depends if it is a course or thesis-based masters program. 

I'm not trying to belittle the work that goes into an undergraduate degree however, it is a very different type of work. 

With that logic, a 4 year PhD is just as much work as an undergrad. You are held to MUCH higher standards in a graduate degree. It also depends if it is a course or thesis-based masters program.