Premed 101 Forums

Controversial Topic: Physician Misconduct Regulation

The CBC has been broadcasting headlines around physician misconduct over the past few weeks.

In particular the the perceived lack of transparency around the process of disciplinary hearings, and the slow processing speed of the colleges has been under scrutiny.  Obviously each province has its own process so I don't want to make a blanket statement.    

But as a budding physician I find the topic really concerning. In particular the back of Dialogue in Ontario, I found a concerning number of physicians engage in inappropriate relationships with their patients.   

We may all remember this case, where the patient was unable to testify in front of the college for health reasons, and the allegations were eventually dropped.  Initially a license was suspended, another province appointed and then de-appointed this individual:

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/edmonton/dr-claudio-soares-cleared-of-sexual-misconduct-in-ontario-1.2943319

The physician in question is now a fully tenured professor at another Ontario medical school.  

Obviously allegations are allegations, and we as a society value the principle of innocent till proven guilty, but I find it frustrating that the case appears to have been dropped on a technicality.  The individual is now appointed to a high ranking position.  Overall it doesn't sit well with me. 

Anyone else have any thoughts around this? 

The CPSO has it's share of flaws, but I think a zero tolerance policy on sexual misconduct is not one of them. I definitely support greater transparency around this and protections for patients, even if it as at the cost of physician privacy in this setting (i.e. bill 87). they should have appropriate resources for dealing with these complaints in a timely fashion.