Premed 101 Forums

Don't Know Where To Go From Here

Hi Everyone,

Does anyone have some advice on what my next steps should be or other universities that I might have a realistic chance of getting into. This was my third application to NOSM (wait listed twice, however rejected post interview during this cycle).  I have only applied to NOSM because of their second degree policy (My first degree in Nursing has a very low GPA 2.7 and my second degree I completed in Psychology with a GPA of 3.85) I have not written the MCAT but am considering to do so if there is anywhere I can even apply to with my second degree. Something to know about my second degree is that I only needed 5 full new credits to complete it as the rest of the credits were transferable. Im not sure how this works with some of the other universities…. I have a Masters in Public Health and have completed the Nurse Practitioner Program with great marks. It is this first degree that is haunting me. Can I overcome this? Or do I move on? I don't want to give up….

Ok so after some long thinking I have decided I'm not ready to throw in the towel. Here is what I'm thinking of doing.

1. Finish another degree (my third) . It will take me two years to complete a biology or psychology of science degree. I'm hoping I can use these two years if I do well to open the doors to other schools. Up until now because of my poor planning I have only been eligible for NOSM

2. Write the MCAT next year. I'm hoping my science based courses will help me prepare for this.

3. Reapply at NOSM in between and hope for the best.

4. Work hard and not give up until I know I have done everything possible. At that point I think I will know if I am ready to move on.

Any advice or thoughts ?? Please I'm looking for honest feedback

Ok so after some long thinking I have decided I'm not ready to throw in the towel. Here is what I'm thinking of doing.