Premed 101 Forums

Non-Trad: Do I Stand A Chance? Need Help Deciding Whether To Write Mcat

Hey guys! This is a bit of a long post but it's my first time posting here and I wanted to be thorough, really just looking for some honest feedback as I am new to the pre-med thing  :)

I have only recently made the decision to try for medicine, and I just registered for the MCAT. Having not done a science degree I am wondering whether it is even worth it for me to dedicate my whole summer if the rest of my application wouldn't stand a chance but makes me feel hopeful even in spite of my average GPA and lack of sciences...But I'm worried it may not even be that great compared to most applicants.

My stats: 

GPA: 82% 

AGPA (without my first year): 83.8%

Degree: BSc Major: Psychology, Minor:Political Science
MCAT: tba

EC's: Quite a few but I basically had no idea what i wanted to do in my undergrad so I got involved in everything...

~4 years (200) hours on-going volunteering at a Suicide/Crisis support online service for youth 13-30

-Summer intern full-time and then intermittent volunteer at a Psychiatric Residential Facility on the old Riverview psychiatric Hospital grounds in Coquitlam.. there I supported the clients in their everyday activities as well as facilitated programs and helped the OT, RT team with programs. 

-2 years as an RA/Community Leader, with one of those years as a Residence Education Leader in an international themed community