Premed 101 Forums

Burnt out from studying for the MCAT for the 3rd time

barc16

I have to re-write my MCAT in order to increase my chances at Western and Queen's, the two schools that favour my GPA, so there's no question about that. The story is that I studied for the MCAT (or more accurately, stressed about studying) for it all summer 3 years ago but didn't end up writing it because I knew I was not ready and I was going through some personal stuff so I decided to deal with that first. So that's 1 summer of studying.

Then last summer I studied and finally wrote it. But didn't do good enough, although met cutoffs for UofT.

Now I'm studying again this summer but I'm so burnt out from re-learning the material and just sitting there and reading for the 3rd time. I know it sounds kind of lazy to say this, but really, I cannot focus. I studied the sciences (psychology/neuroscience & biology) in my undergrad (just graduated this year) so my grasp of that material is pretty good. In fact, I'd say my grasp of the material overall is pretty good, but I still feel like I need to go through all the content or else I'll feel like I'm forgetting something.

Any tips/advice for how to deal with this? Anyone who went through or is going through something similar? :( 

I know how you feel. This is exactly how I felt when I had to re-write the test. How I got over this was 1) I studied for shorter intervals in the beginning. For example, I studied for 30 minutes and took a break rather than studying for an hour before taking a break (and then I gradually increased my study:break ratio to be more efficient). 2) I got togehter with friends who were also studying for the MCAT (this was a good support system) 3) I took break days every week.

By doing this, I was able to do well on the MCAT and I know you can too!