Premed 101 Forums

Hi there, 

I'm a student in my undergraduate studies looking to work in healthcare. The role of PA really stood out to me as it looks to be a great balance between working in medicine but also having the opportunity to have life commitments outside of it. 

I've been doing some digging regarding potential jobs as a PA however and I'm a bit worried as it seems most jobs only have enough funding for a year or so and are temporary. Would I have re-locate every couple of years for work here in Ontario or are full-time permanent positions also common?

Is this a good career to consider at this point and time when funding can be difficult to find? The older post from 2016 had quite a few unhappy PAs commenting and had said they wished they would have applied to a different program because they couldn't find work and that jobs were extremely competitive. Is the government doing anything for the new PA grads? 

Any insight would be great, thanks!

• 1 month later...

Hi healthcaregs,

[admins please delete if not allowed]

In Ontario, I personally know many PAs that have worked at the same job/employer since graduation (myself included). This is a combination of PAs who are privately hired by a solo / group of physicians, and by those who are hired thru hospitals. 

Not all PAs stay in the same job forever:

•  Other PAs have changed jobs due to things not working out with the Career Start employer (whether it was a poor employer fit, poor employee fit, operational reasons, etc.)Change in location/life circumstances, wanting to change specialties/schedules.
  • Some PAs have switched jobs after 1-2 years but stayed in the same hospital (e.g. one PA I know of switched departments e.g. Internal Medicine to ER, but continued to work in the same hospital).