Premed 101 Forums

Law school graduate to dentistry?

Hi everyone,

I recently graduated law school and now I am interested in applying to dentistry program.

I would like to know whether my law school GPA will be considered as a part of my application to dentistry?

Considering that I didn't get much A+/A during law school, what are my options if they consider my law school GPA? Should I even give it a shot?

p.s. I studied science for 3 years before I got into law school so I took all the pre-req courses.

I think the important question is why do you want to switch into a completely different field? Is it worth all the pain? Its difficult to get into dental school and once you get in you are faced with a rigorous curriculum that is going to be very challenging and expensive. After you graduate then the real learning starts and it will take you another 5 years to become a good dentist. Also let me tell you that having a dental degree is not a licence to print money! It is getting more and more competitive and harder to make a good living. Its not what it used to be so get ready for that. So I would think long and hard before switching to dentistry. Best of luck to you  

Hey Op,

It seems you are in an interesting situation. I agree with what Lord Denning said above. However if articling at one of the 7 sisters or clerking for the SCC doesn't pan out, you could always try to be the gold medallist at your school. I heard that Dental schools look favourably at that.

Hopefully it all works out for you

21 hours ago, orgolover said:

May I ask why are you even considering Dentistry in the first place? 

Obviously you have never heard of Davies Slavies lol. 

4 hours ago, Wagon Mound said:

Hey Op,