Premed 101 Forums

Looking for advice on my situation

Hi

I am a 33-year-old massage therapist from Toronto. For the past few months I have been considering going back to school so that I can apply to medical school and I’d appreciate if you could give me some suggestions regarding what I should do next. Considering that it will take me four or five years to get a bachelor’s degree, I would also appreciate if you could point out the advantages and disadvantages of my situation. Here is my background:

I am an immigrant and before I came to Canada I had completed four years of a six-year MBBS in my home country. At the time, joining my family in Canada was my priority and I had to give up studying medicine. After I arrived in Canada, I studied massage therapy and I have worked as a therapist and a lecturer for the past few years.

It's going to be a long journey but the fact that you did a MBBS means that you already have a great background in Health Sciences. If you can get into a University undergrad program that focuses on something related to Health Sciences, that'd be great (like Physiology). The only real advice I would have for you is to remember that GPA is king; the good news is that you will start a new degree with this mindset, and so you should try your best to get 4.0s across the board. See if in your first two semester of study you can maintain a 3.93+ GPA or not; if you struggle to do so on a full course load, then it might be wise to reconsider taking this path. But good luck to you though, I hope your dreams come true of being able to continue practicing the profession for which you have already studied! :) 

Thanks for your advice. Given my background, getting a degree related to health sciences seems very practical. However, the more I read about MMI, CASPer, CARS, etc., the more I realize they prefer candidates who are well-versed in psychology. Is psychology a common choice for pre-med students?