Premed 101 Forums

2-year Undergrad programs as a 2nd Degree?

Hello, 

I am looking to do a 2nd degree, and hoping to get some advice or recommendations for programs that could be completed, preferably, in two years. 

Does anybody know of any undergrad programs that would allow you to fast track and complete it in less time? I have heard that Queens Nursing program allows students to only have to do two years if they already possess a degree in a related field. So im looking for something similar, that would help with med school application at the end of the 2 years. 

My degree is in Social Science with a minor in Psychology. In addition, I had previously completed 2 out of 4 years in a bachelor of Health Science, before switching. my GPA is not competitive at all and I just want to know, given my background  what my options are

https://www.ryerson.ca/sophe/admissions/

both have 2-year versions. Look at pre-reqs, both can be rewarding careers, and may have an extreme workload (6-8 courses per semester) if you don't have transfer credits. Lots of memorization.

Other schools have nursing 2 years, Toronto being one of them as well. Nursing also has a subjective marking scheme so one thing to be aware of.

Some schools look at best two years (Western), most recent two years (Queen's), last three years (Ottawa) or whole new degree as a whole (McGill, Dalhousie), these may be your best bet if you own the new degree in both years. Don't forget about doing well on the MCAT as well. Lots to think about because you might actually have to do one of these careers or a career from a previous degree, as not everyone does end up getting into medicine.

Good luck! :)