Premed 101 Forums

Public Servant to MD

Hi,

I could use any and all advice that's out there as I start the journey of studying for MCAT and applying for med schools (aiming for 2020 start).

Some facts about me-

• I graduated UOttawa in 2017 with an Honours Bachelor of Biomedical Sciences with COOP (5 year degree). My CGPA upon graduation was 3.8.
  • Currently I am working for Health Canada as a Biologist doing toxicology literature research for risk assessment of chemicals to human health.
  • Ideally would like to end of OOP (I'm in Ontario) but I understand I have a lower chance of this. Dream would be Dal!
  • I plan to write the MCAT summer 2019 and studying for the year leading up to that part time 
  • I have good volunteer experience, I worked throughout my undergrad, and am very well rounded 
  • EXCEPT that I have very little academic research experience. I did a 6 month research project in 3rd year but never did an honours project as I felt I would be happy working in government 
  • As a result, I also do not have a key professor to contact for a reference. I have some that might remember me but never fostered a really good relationship with one specifically
  • My strong references would be from government and volunteering

I know my CGPA isn't super high but its above the minimums for all the schools I have looked at (albeit on the line). Since I have a year before applying, I have some time to work on some of the other weaknesses (there's not much to be done about my undergrad grades at this point).

Thanks in advance!

Hey - first off good luck in the coming journey