Premed 101 Forums

OMA Membership vs CMA membership

Hi guys, the OMA membership costs 10$ a year. The CMA is 12$.

I know it is possible to take disability insurance/life insurance via OMA. There is also discounts available for good life membership.

Is there any advantage to signing up with CMA? I know its 12$ but at this point I am just curious if there is any use paying the 12$.

Thank you

45 minutes ago, strawberryjams said:

I know it is possible to take disability insurance/life insurance via OMA. There is also discounts available for good life membership.

Is there any advantage to signing up with CMA? I know its 12$ but at this point I am just curious if there is any use paying the 12$.

Thank you

The only thing that CMA offers for a medical student is MD financials. You need to be a CMA member, but to become a CMA member, you need to sign up with OMA first.

I enjoyed their financial planning with me when I was a medical student, and their advices on disability insurance, setting up a budget to pay back my debt, etc. All for free! They also recommend accountants to do your taxes for free (pretty simple for medical student, but might as well get it done for free by a professional).

I won't recommend investing with MD financials, but as a medical student & resident physician, we do get a sweet deal for free!

4 minutes ago, LittleDaisy said:

The only thing that CMA offers for a medical student is MD financials. You need to be a CMA member, but to become a CMA member, you need to sign up with OMA first.

I enjoyed their financial planning with me when I was a medical student, and their advices on disability insurance, setting up a budget to pay back my debt, etc. All for free! They also recommend accountants to do your taxes for free (pretty simple for medical student, but might as well get it done for free by a professional).

I won't recommend investing with MD financials, but as a medical student & resident physician, we do get a sweet deal for free!