Premed 101 Forums

LOW GPA - Applying into Medschool

Hey everyone, I am currently in a tough situation right now. My current GPA is at a 3.0 which is way below the cutoff for medical school applications. The past undergrad years have been horrible and I have been getting C's and D's which accumulated to my cumulative GPA. A lot of personal problems occurred during these years which distracted me from my studies.My marks may not show it, but I am still very passionate to learn medicine and I cannot take failure as an option. I am currently studying for the MCAT and scheduled myself to write it early next year. I have decided that I want to practice in Canada and I am willing to do anything and everything even if it takes more of my time. I was wondering if you could leave a comment on my options: 

- Should I take a 2nd Degree to bump up my GPA? (possible Kinesiology)

- Should I do a POST-bacc or Masters (if eligible)?

- Is it possible to go into para-medicine and then straight into Med school?

- How long would this overall process take to get into Med school (assuming GPA plays out right)?

I assume you want to get into a Canadian medical school.

- GPA is way too low at present. 2nd degree is essential.

- No point doing Masters or post-bacc when your undergrad GPA is so low.

- I don't know much about para-med

- Expect min 3 years, assuming you ace your GPA in your 2nd undergrad

As an aside, if I were you, I won't even bother with MCAT at this time with that GPA. Start your 2nd undergrad, and see how well you do for the next 2 years. Consider writing the MCAT only if your GPA > 3.7.

5 hours ago, CForce24 said: