Premed 101 Forums

I am almost done my BSc in Biology however, I have an extremely low GPA around 2.33. Yes, I know that's terrible. I keep telling myself maybe I should choose a different path, but I just can't. I have been volunteering at the hospital for a few years now. I am not athletic and I have not been leading anything in particular. But I still want to be a doctor and now I am more mentally prepared then I was when I began initially. What can I do to increase my chances as an applicant? 

The reason I suggested Kin is it ia good prep for med, it prepares you for a Plan B in the healthcare field and is not terribly hard but the material is voluminous and requires hard work to attain those A's.  toothchainz made a value point. BTW, for many applicants accepted, I see they studies geography! Students tend to do much better in programs of interest!

No question it's possible to get accepted to med, even after struggling and starting with a low GPA.  There are many degrees - definitely doesn't have to be a BSc.  At this point though, it's important to try to figure out a game plan and what specific things you can improve to make your second degree really count.  It could mean studying a subject that you're very interested in and it could also mean seeing how to improve your academic outcomes through working with student services.  

However, I'd think twice before diving into another degree immediately - it sounds like you're feeling a lot more mentally prepared, but maybe working for a year or gaining other experience might help you get to the 100% prepared state.  It's a big commitment and expense with no guarantees.  So it's also really important to have a Plan B and even Plan C or D.

What is your GPA breakdown, do you have an upward trend at all? What is your EC situation like, other than hospital volunteering?

What is it about medical school that particularly interests you over other careers in health care like PT, RN, PA, NP etc?