Premed 101 Forums

Do I apply? Do I have a chance?

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to this forum; loving it so far! 

I'm an older student (40), having just completed a BA (GPA 3.69), and am beginning a BHSc at the same university.  Given my transfer credits from the BA to the BHSc, my GPA is currently 3.90.  I work full-time (in health care, transcribing reports), and have continuously throughout my studies.  I also have four children. 

I am going to be preparing an application to med schools once the BHSc is complete (I am about half done, with transfer credits).  My concern is the EC's.  I literally have none.  As mentioned, I have a full-time job (10 years) and four children; is that an appropriate angle to tackle that part of the application? 

I'm really trying to decide if pursuing my dream is "worth it" in the sense of the time and money involved. 

Thoughts? 

Welcome to the forum! :)

5 minutes ago, Neurosurgeon_Dream said:

having just completed a BA (GPA 3.69), and am beginning a BHSc at the same university.  Given my transfer credits from the BA to the BHSc, my GPA is currently 3.90.

When you apply to medical school you will have to send in transcripts from both your BA and BHSc. The transfer credits, unfortunately, do not count as nil. What is your cumulative GPA factoring in both your BA and BHSc courses thus far? How many credits do you have remaining for your BHSc before you apply?

Which province do you reside in? Depending on where you live, you might have an advantage at some medical schools more than others.

There are also a few schools with weighted GPA's that only account for grades taken in your most recent or best years that might work in your favour. Your eligibility for weighting depends on a couple of things... What is your yearly breakdown of GPA and course-load (full-time/part-time) from September to May? 

26 minutes ago, Neurosurgeon_Dream said: