Premed 101 Forums

Advice about school abroad

Hey guys, I'm a first year student. I recently had the idea of applying for one of the unis in Australia for dent (Queensland most likely). They take in my highschool marks for admission and not my Uni GPA since i would be applying before the end of my first year. This seems like a good idea to save time and avoid Canada's low admission chances. Plus my highschool mark was pretty good (mid 90) so I think I have a decent chance. The only catch is that it's a 400k tuition, with prob 100k more for living expenses (5 year course btw). 

4 hours ago, Starburst said:

It depends, what's your first year GPA? That should give you an indication of how you will do in dental school.

Well we only had a couple of midterms but I should be somewhere in the 80s. My point is would it be beneficial to wait it out in Canada? what would be the advantages I really can't think of any.

2 hours ago, Pauls said:

I believe UQ is the most expensive school in Australia . Why dont you to go to cheaper one to minimize your debt? check out this website for more info https://www.oztrekk.com/programs/dentistry/PG/queensland.php. There are cheaper schools in Australia that take you starlight from high school. 

Yes but the other ones open after my first year ends meaning they wouldn't take my highschool marks

10 minutes ago, Z32000 said:

Yes but the other ones open after my first year ends meaning they wouldn't take my highschool marks

Just apply with your high school marks even if you have finished first year. If your first year GPA is low then dont send transcript and just send high school marks. You would save like 200k which is a lot of money. You focus and goal should be on choosing the CHEAPEST school and MINIMIZING your debt.