Premed 101 Forums

Losing My Mind!

faithrl

I'm only in first year undergrad. I'm sure this is normal but I'm having serious doubts about my ability to get into a medical school. It's just now hitting me how difficult it actually is to get in. I'm only a social science major, I can't even do grade 12 calculus. Never took grade 12 chemistry. I had a plan to make this up over the summer. 

I guess I'm just lost! Medicine and science was always my passion but I feel like the competition is so much better than me, and already so much further ahead. Do you think it's possible for me to catch up in math, maintain a high GPA in psychology, and still get into medical school? 

I'm hard working and motivated but I'm having serious doubts in myself.

Any advice? 

11 hours ago, faithrl said:

I'm only in first year undergrad. I'm sure this is normal but I'm having serious doubts about my ability to get into a medical school. It's just now hitting me how difficult it actually is to get in. I'm only a social science major, I can't even do grade 12 calculus. Never took grade 12 chemistry. I had a plan to make this up over the summer. 

I guess I'm just lost! Medicine and science was always my passion but I feel like the competition is so much better than me, and already so much further ahead. Do you think it's possible for me to catch up in math, maintain a high GPA in psychology, and still get into medical school? 

Any advice?