Premed 101 Forums

Undergrad vs Medical School

To the medical students, how do you find medical school compared to undergrad? Ie. in terms of workload, difficulty, overall stress… etc.?

I’m finding that my undergrad is burning me out a little bit, I’m in my 3rd year, and I was wondering if medical schools becomes a bit less intense? (I heard that everything is P/F)

The volume of information you cover in medical school is crazy. 

In undergrad, one month of content is like a week in medical school. I could go weeks doing minimal work in undergrad and study a few days before the test, but in medical school, there's work (almost) everyday if you want to keep up with the material.

But it's also different because you don't need to strive for 90s anymore.

Also the last 2 years (clerkship) will be completely different. Pretty sure it's normal to be sleep-deprived and stressed, because you have real responsibilities at the hospital, spending 9-5 at the hospital (and sometimes more, being on 24h call, weekends) and you also have to write exams every 6-8 weeks - so being an employee and a student at the same time can be challenging. 

I guess to summarize, you have WAY more free time in undergrad compared to medical school and you're only responsibility was studying but in medical school (in 3rd and 4th year), you'll have dual responsibilities at the hospital and studying as a student. That's not to say you have no free time in medical school, you definitely do, just have to use it wisely and ensure you don't burnout!