Premed 101 Forums

Advice on how to study?

faithrl

I've only really developed a passion for school and learning over the last year or so. I'm a first year psychology major at McMaster. I'm still learning how to manage it all and get better along the way. I was wondering specifically what study routines work for you guys for different classes. Specifically math, biology, and classes such as psychology. 

From the first day of class, how often do you review material, how often a day/week, and which methods have you found works best. 

I find when I try to stick to a specific routine so far, I end up getting burnt out, putting stuff to the last minute, and occasionally giving up and saying "okay, whatever I studied enough for this test" \

Thanks so much for any replies and taking the time to help :)

I suggest thinking about what specifically makes you feel burnt out when you stick with a specific routine.  Is it because you assign yourself a lot of tasks in a short, limited time?  Is it because your methods of accomplishing these goals may not be efficient?  Or rather is it the nature of the tasks involved (e.g. lots of multitasking is required)?

Once you understand the root cause(s), then list and prioritize your tasks (if you're assigning too many at a time), consider studying with groups/friends and get advice from them (if your methods are inefficient), and/or make a plan to balance things out (if the nature of tasks is inherently difficult), etc.