Premed 101 Forums

non-trad: How long should I study for MCAT?

LiconC

(I posted this in r/MCAT to no avail... to many 'merican students who don't understand the Canadian system and are stuck on the fact that someone would try to write the MCAT without STEM background).
I have not taken any hard-science courses (aside from HS). Here is my question: How much time (hours) should I spend studying for the MCAT given that I have no science experience?
(Background: 4th year BA Honours in Philosophy, strong student. My reading comp is obviously very strong, I also have a strong psych/ soc background).
Also, here is my plan:
  1. First week of summer, begin prep-course
  2. Study 8hrs a day, 5 days a week
  3. Continue studying after prep course ends
  4. Take the test either end of July or end of Aug (by this time I should have put in around 480-640 hrs).
(Also, would you recommend studying four months and then writing the test at the end of Aug (cycle cut-off for many schools), or, instead, should I write the test after three months, wait a month and get my results back, and then have the chance to write the test again before the end of Aug if i dont like my grade?)
Thank you so much for your time and energy.

The total number of hours that you’re planning on putting in seems reasonable and realistic - it’s hard to do more than make it your full-time job. I spent ~200-225 hours on prepping for the MCAT on evenings/weekends part-time over 11 weeks when I took it (I got a 514), although I only had to learn ~half the content completely from scratch.