Premed 101 Forums

RN going to Medical School

uncle23

Hi everyone,

I am a 4th year McMaster student in Nursing (BScN)  in my last semester currently - finishing officially this current Fall term on December 5.  Prior to the Mac program,  I graduated from Mohawk College Practical Nursing - I am currently working in a hospital casually as an RPN, whilst finishing my term at Mac (basically just clinical hours right now at another hospital).  I'm planning to finish at Mac, write the NCLEX (and pass on my first time) in February 2019; therefore possibly studying for the NCLEX and MCAT from right now to February-March.

I'm here to ask for general  advice on  medical school - possible routes for me to take in the pre-med stage, schools to apply to realistically per my situation etc.  Long story short; I'm committed to changing career paths and going 100% for the med route despite the obstacles I'll have to wait and/or the time it'll take to get there. 

GPA wise: slacking big time (biggest concern..... slacked my way through the program; 60-75's (C- to B).  GPA is probably a 2-2.4.  Seriously need to bring that up.... (note- currently in a stubborn/ impatient type mood to 1) move away from home, 2) start med and get moving with it so therefore, if any has ideas about schools with a terribly low GPA)

Pre-req's/ science courses: nothing .... basically just took pathophysiology in my nursing program;  I have not taken biology, chemistry (general or organic), physics etc...

Extra-curricular: Nursing mentor (nursing upper buddy program for first years), dementia experience tour guide

References:  2 academic solid academic references available, clinical preceptor, clinical tutors; Hospital manager/ Clinical Educator (RN's)

****Action plan ideas:

- (?) post baccalaureate program: https://www.medschoolimg.com/  - questioning the credibility of this program.  Caribbean as an option for my situation....?