Premed 101 Forums

Recommended Hours of studying per week

TheSand

Hi,

I'm an undergrad that works 24 hrs on the weekend as and the nature of my job allows me to study 7 h both days, however, to make up the recommended 3 hours of study/1 hour of class I get this monstrosity of a schedule below. I think the hours tally 40 h/week without classes. Does/did anyone else have such a ridiculous schedule or do I not need that amount of studying to do well in undergrad. I tried the search, but it was unhelpful. p.s. I know that the level of studying required differs per individual, but I'm just looking for an average. This isn't even a full course load and whenever I do have any ecs, it's at the expense of sleep which annihilates my schedule for the rest of the weekschedule from hell.png

This type of scheduling is beyond neurotic and completely unrealistic. I think you know that is ridiculous and there is a 0% chance you stick to this schedule. Even if this sleep and eating schedule doesn't mess you up big time, this type of schedule will burn you out in a week. You have literally scheduled every minute of your day. How do you plan to go from gym to eating in 0 minutes with no time to prepare, or make, or buy food?

To answer your initial question, there is no way for us to know the exact number of hours you will need to study. That varies by each person and the courses you are taking. Some people do well studying a few hours a week, others need an hour or two to review nightly. Rather than insanely scheduling every second of the day, just try to squeeze in studying when you can and see how it goes.

Are you trolling or for real? No one has a schedule like this I’ve ever seen. 

In terms of studying everyone is different. Some people barely study and do well and others study all day and fail. You should be able to figure out how much time you need by seeing how long it takes you to cover the material

16 minutes ago, robclem21 said: