Premed 101 Forums

Approaching professors

paper

I am in my second year in biology and I want to become involved in research this summer, even if the research is not necessarily my project. I found 4~5 professors who I have not met in person and are currently doing research on a topic that I find interesting and want to learn more about. Their research topic is related to biology but more an application of biological concepts in other fields. I have experience in the lab from previous courses, but not outside of those classes, and finished all science courses in my first year well with relatively high GPA (I believe I will be able to get the NSERC based on my GPA). I am uncertain about my chances however and so I am not sure if it would be better to contact one professor at a time or all of them at once. Also would it be better to send them an email explaining why I am interested etc, or send them an email to set up a meeting time with them to express my interest in person and learn more about their research project?

Thanks in advance for any help/suggestions :)