Premed 101 Forums

Canadian Student Applying to US Dental

Hello,

I am a Canadian student planning to apply to the US.

I have around a 3.5 GPA, taking my DAT next November so hoping to get at least 20+, and I have extensive amount of extracurriculars and shadowing experience. 

Honestly, my extras are amazing. I started 2 university clubs catering towards the healthcare field, I am on the pre-dental committee, I started an organization that connects young entrepreneurs to attract mentorship opportunities in my community, I have been working as a pharmacy technician for 3 years, and I have around 500+ shadowing hours at 2 dentists and an orthodontist.

Overall, My extracurriculars are really strong. (Pm if you want the full list), my GPA would be around a 3.5 at the time of admission, and hoping my DAT score would be around a 20+. 

That being said, what are my chances of getting into an American dental school? Considering I would be an international student and my GPA isn't as high as most international students, can my extracurriculars, personal statement, and letter of recommendations potentially make up for that? 

Also, The reason for my low GPA is only due to my first year of university studies. All my other years have been an A average or above. (3.85+) . Would they also take that into account?

I would appreciate all your thoughts and opinions!

44 minutes ago, DMDtobe said:

Overall, My extracurriculars are really strong. (Pm if you want the full list), my GPA would be around a 3.5 at the time of admission, and hoping my DAT score would be around a 20+. 

That being said, what are my chances of getting into an American dental school? Considering I would be an international student and my GPA isn't as high as most international students, can