Premed 101 Forums

Need advice on course selection: Biology At York (Starting in January)

Unknown99

Hey guys,

I will join York university in the winter(Biology). I really need help in course selection. I have some questions:1.Will I encounter a problem later on while applying to med schools because I have started in winter because it won’t be considered a full time year? 

It may be a silly question but I want to doublecheck.

2.If I took for example BIO 1000, then should I take also BIO 1001 later because each of those has 3 credits? Do med schools want more credits in biology? Same for CHEM 1000/1001and other courses as well.

3.Will I be able to take Computer starting from winter or is it a full year course?

Thanks in advance, Help would really be appreciated -I am totally lost because I am a transfer student from a university outside Canada,so I am not familiar with universities here and med school requirements.

a fellow yorkie!! 

1. you need to take biol1001 as I believe its a requirement for all biology majors

2. by computer I'm assuming you mean LE/EECS 1520, correct? if so, then yes you can take it in the winter as it is a half year course 

Since you're new at york, here are some websites I think you'll find helpful:

https://schedulebuilder.yorku.ca - this website helps you plan out your schedule before officially adding courses through the REM website. You put in the courses you are planning to take and it comes up with several schedule options for you with different timings, sections, etc.

https://myacademicrecord.students.yorku.ca/degree-progress-report - this shows you all the course requirements needed for you to graduate and tells you which ones you have already taken (satisfied) and which ones you still need to take. I HIGHLY recommend this website for you because if BIOL1001 is a required course for you (which I believe is most likely the case), it'll show up on there and state that it's "Not Yet Satisfied"