Premed 101 Forums

Struggling in Med School ...

I'm a first year med student and I'm feeling that med school is more competitive than what I have anticipated. I went into medicine looking forward to a more co-operative environment, but I'm finding that the competition does not stop.   I applied to be the co-chair for 3 clubs at my school and was only accepted at 1.  I've always been interested in pursing internal med - but was not accepted as the co-chair of the internal medicine club... so right now, based on that I'm wondering if I would be competitive in internal medicine if I have not even been accepted as one of the co-chairs of the club.

I also don't have any connections in medicine like a lot of my classmates, I'm the first person in my family to go to university and because of that I'm finding it difficult to find physicians to shadow.  I'd e-mail preceptors to shadow and a lot of times they don't answer. I have not had much exposure to the different fields of medicine and I'm wondering how can I build connections with preceptors in the fields that I'm interested in and what can I do to show leadership capacity in medical school? 

I don't want to finish med school and be in a lot of debt, only to be in a field that I don't like.

Internal medicine is the second largest field in all of medicine - that means the vast majority of your class going into that field will not have any special co-chairing experience related to it. If your school is average sized dozens of people will be going into internal medicine - only 2 will be a co-chair etc. Plus I will say from the other side having such ECs doesn't really matter that much in the application process if at all. It also has one of the highest match rates, i.e. it is one of the easier things to get into for sure. Now getting a particular subspecialty in internal is another matter mind you - their real challenging part comes later.