Premed 101 Forums

MMI prep course?

I have no direct experience, but will give my 2 cents anyways since no one else has answered.

- a lot of MMI prep companies make wild promises. If something looks too good to be true, it probably is.

- MMI prep companies aren’t given any insider knowledge. Their knowledge only comes from familiarity with the system, which can be gained through this website and talking to others. The prep companies don’t have access to UBCs formula for scoring MMIs, they only make educated guesses on what makes a good candidate

- the only people I know who paid for a prep company had already paid for MCAT prep (and got great scores) and had great overall applications. They were the type of people who did ‘whatever it took’ to get in and probably would have gotten in without prep. This can artificially inflate prep companies statistics on how many of their students get in.

Overall, if you are an average speaker/interviewer, I think you can definitely prep on your own or with free prep groups that you can connect with through this forum. If you have public speaking anxiety or think you interview badly, a prep course may be worth it for you personally.

i think other posters have already written on this subject, probably with more detail than me so check out other people’s opinions before making a decision :)