Premed 101 Forums

Matching to Plastic Surgery

Hello everyone,

I'm a first year med student at McMaster, and I'm quite interested in pursuing plastic surgery residency. I was wondering what can be done to improve my chances of matching into plastics?

I don't have any graduate degrees, nor any research publications as of yet. I'm currently working on two research publications ( that will be published next year)  in the area of palliative medicine and global health.  I'm starting on a research project in plastic surgery,  but I was wondering if I should pursue graduate degree in a topic related to plastics to improve my chances of matching.

What should I do to improve my chances of matching into plastic surgery?

Thank you :)

3 hours ago, medicine2019 said:

Hello everyone,

I'm a first year med student at McMaster, and I'm quite interested in pursuing plastic surgery residency. I was wondering what can be done to improve my chances of matching into plastics?

I don't have any graduate degrees, nor any research publications as of yet. I'm currently working on two research publications ( that will be published next year)  in the area of palliative medicine and global health.  I'm starting on a research project in plastic surgery,  but I was wondering if I should pursue graduate degree in a topic related to plastics to improve my chances of matching.

What should I do to improve my chances of matching into plastic surgery?

Thank you :)