Premed 101 Forums

Anesthesiology Career Outlook

Hi Everyone,

I am a current medical student and I had a quick question about anesthesiology. Anesthesiology is one of the specialities that I am strongly interested in. One thing about the field that I was concerned about is that I have been hearing stories about nurses doing anesthesiology jobs and thus making it harder now and in the future for anesthesiologists to get jobs in America. I was wondering if anyone knew if something similar is happening in Canada, or may be likely to happen in the future.

Nurses cannot get the same certification to do anesthesia in Canada. The closest things we do have are Anesthesia Assistants...but they do not have the scope.of practice that anesthesia nurses have in the US.

As for the future, hard to tell. Our medical organizations tend to be better at protecring their turf (especially where warranted). In the distant future I imagine there will be increased automation, but there debate about how far that will go. Some say the final outcome could end up worse than what is predicted for radiology, because the wise rada folks have developped more diverse clinical opportunities (ie: interventionl), wheras anesthesia doesn't have much (other than pain clinics).

18 hours ago, Turk said:

Hi Everyone,

I am a current medical student and I had a quick question about anesthesiology. Anesthesiology is one of the specialities that I am strongly interested in. One thing about the field that I was concerned about is that I have been hearing stories about nurses doing anesthesiology jobs and thus making it harder now and in the future for anesthesiologists to get jobs in America. I was wondering if anyone knew if something similar is happening in Canada, or may be likely to happen in the future.