Premed 101 Forums

Ontario FM more competitive this cycle?

Did anyone else have issues getting interviews at Ontario FM programs this year? 

I'm an OOP student but originally from Ontario. It's pretty obvious that FM was my top choice and I have 4 weeks of FM electives in Ontario. I applied to all 6 schools, but only ended up with 2 interviews :|

I got interviews everywhere else I applied to, including provinces I had no electives in, so I'm a bit confused. 

Are there more students from Ontario going into FM this year? Or are more people just backing up with FM? Any insight would be much appreciated!! 

family med is the new derm, bro!

but in all seriousness, I think a ton of people are backing up with it/have switched to all-in on it this year (at least in my class-people are just sick of the stress of CaRMS/no jobs in certain specialities), so family had a large pool to choose from this year. Still will probably be among the least competitive, but I suspect it wont be a walk-on like in previous years.

Anecdotally, it seems like the pendulum has begun to swing from everyone wanting to specialize, to people wanting a safer/quicker route to doctor income + all of the freedom and flexibility that comes with family. That and the fact that recent match rates have scared many more people into at least taking family seriously.

Pendulum always swing! I wonder how this will turn out and how long until it swings back the other way.

I'll agree to this as someone who went through last years CaRMS. It seems like the Ontario schools, Sask, and Manitoba were very selective this year.

I got my top two picks for FM plus two I would rank middle of the pack, but got all the anatomical pathology invites aside from Manitoba, Sask, Dal, and Toronto.

From what I gathered from a friend in Sask FM over the holidays is they got tired of burning through so much time interviewing people who likely are using them as a "backup" program.